Democracy in Poetry Blogs, high art, Intro To Graduate Studies, Poetry Blogs

Slam Poetry, (cont.), & (?)Democracy(?)+blogs, &Aesthetics

I shared with my class today my idea about the similarities between slam poetry and poetry blogging. My fellow classmates liked the idea. One of them even suggested comparing it to the bathroom graffiti poetry. I don’t think I’ll do that in my paper, but maybe someone else would like to do that. Another one asked me about the aesthetics of poetry blogs–how are they ranked. I realized that we don’t really rank poetry blogs in terms of aesthetics or quality that way. It made me realize that we don’t really rank poetry blogs off of their content. We rank them more by their popularity. And that confused me. Why don’t we rank them in terms of aesthetics? I’m hoping that the more aesthetically pleasing blogs are the ones that are viewed the most so that the most popular ones are really the most aesthetic ones, but I’m really not sure about that. It did cause me to stumble and think hard in class. How trustworthy are popularity votes for poetry blogs? What are people wanting in a poetry blog?

Another classmate, a Briton, asked me if the “democracy” I was mentioning in my paper was the “American Democracy” or was it a different form (maybe he said “Populist Democracy???” I’m really not sure–I couldn’t even tell in class.) Regardless of the other option, I thought it was an interesting question, and it made me realize that most the scholars I’ve been reading have all assumed it was the American form of democracy to which they were referring. It  is an interesting thought, and one that would definitely bear some looking into, to see if other cultures explicitly realize a “democratic” quality to blogging, and if that democracy is American in nature. Is America the implicit model for blogging?  He was wondering how readers could comment on blogs. Were their comments moderated or were they publicly posted? Interesting question and one that I can’t answer. I know that administrators can choose if they will moderate the comments they receive, but it’s not possible for the reader to know if the comments are moderated or not. This would, however, really effect the “realness” and “transparency” of the blogs. It would also change what kind of “democratic poetry blog” the site really was.   I don’t think this is the direction that my paper is going, but it was still an interesting comment from my British classmate. It’s good to have a diverse class because everyone is looking at the same topic through different experiences, nationalities, and ideologies.

Mmmkay. That’s it for now! What do y’all think? IMG_2333.jpg

Leave a Reply

